The Fulehung

der-fulehung-thun.jpg

In the battle of Murten in 1476, the Thun fighters captured the jester of Charles the Bold (Karl der Kühne).  This jester, now known as Fulehung, is the most famous figure of the "Ausschiesset" in modern times. Equipped with a mask, "Söiblattere" and wood mallet, he chases the crowd through the alleys of Thun and distributes sweets to the children.

If you never had contact with him before, you should definitely do so next autumn...


› Date & Program of Fulehung 2020




On the trail of the Fulehung

The Fulehung is a fool figure who appears at the annual Thun folk festival, the Ausschiesset.

Legend has it that the Fulehung was the jester of Charles the Bold, Duke of Burgundy and Luxembourg. In 1476, at the battle of Murten, the Thun fighters are said to have succeeded in capturing the jester. In Thun, it is said, they then drove him through the alleys until he collapsed. Unfortunately, there are no confirmed reports from this time. 

In the 18th century the jester reappeared in the chronicles. He was the pointer of the rifle association and wore a jester costume on special occasions. In the shooting range he kept peace and order with a bunk, a truncheon. With jokes and jokes he entertained the society in the evening at the marksmen's banquet. 

In 1776 the jester was then abolished and his dress auctioned off. Since he always wore only a cap but never a mask in the pictures from this time, it is not known whether the mask was also there at that time. 

In 1840 there is another hint; the "Seckelmeister" had a jester dress repaired. At the shooting set in 1855 the fool was surely present, equipped with a clamp cap and piston. However, he was not called Fulehung, but "Bajäggel" (Bajass). Shortly afterwards he was again abolished by the school authorities and in 1864 he was reintroduced by the shooters - now with the devil mask. Where this originally came from is unknown. The original mask belongs to the Cadet Commission and is now kept in Thun Castle.

Around the year 1900 the fool then received the today's name "Fulehung". Originally a mockery (lazy dog), the former name "Bajass" was replaced by it in the course of time. 

In 1901 the cadet commission decided that the Fulehung was only allowed to appear at the processions and then had to disappear again. It is said to have not appeared for several years because of the brutalization of the youth. But the tradition still prevailed and since then the Fulehung has not been missing any committee set.

Since about 1960 his work in Thun has been limited to the city centre. At the imposition set processions and at the Gessler shooting of the cadets, he exercises his old functions as a steward and platform master again. Besides he chases the crowd with "Söiblattere" and "Schyt" through the alleys and distributes sweets to the children.
His name does not reflect his activities at all, because Hung is not at all lazy; he completes an immense amount of running during the imposition set and must know his way around the alleys of Thun's city centre.







Offer a coffee  

This website, including reminder service, is privately operated and financed. Why don't you buy the operator a coffee?


Many thanks :)







Stress abbauen und mehr Energie haben: Kostenloses neobeats-Album erhalten.



pensiojob-inserat.png
empty

thun-skyline

Der Fulehung

Der Fulehung

In der Schlacht von Murten 1476, nahmen die Thuner Kämpfer den Hofnarren von Karl dem Kühnen gefangen. Dieser, mittlerweile Fulehung genannt, ist in der heutigen Zeit die bekannteste Figur des Ausschiesset. Mit Maske, Söiblattere und Schyt ausgerüstet, jagt er die Menge durch die Gassen von Thun und verteilt den Kindern Süssigkeiten.

Wer noch nie mit ihm in Kontakt kam, sollte dies im kommenden Herbst unbedingt nachholen...

› Datum & Programm Fulehung 2016


Auf der Spur des Fulehung

Der Fulehung ist eine Narrenfigur, die am jährlichen Thuner Volksfest, dem Ausschiesset, in Erscheinung tritt.

Der Legende nach handelte es sich beim Fulehung um den Hofnarren von Karl dem Kühnen, dem Herzog von Burgund und Luxemburg. Im Jahre 1476, in der Schlacht bei Murten, soll es den Thuner Kämpfern gelungen sein den Narren zu fangen. In Thun, so sagt man, trieben sie ihn dann solange durch die Gassen, bis er zusammenbrach. Leider gibt es keine gesicherten Berichte aus dieser Zeit. 

Im 18. Jahrhundert tauchte der Narr dann in den Chroniken wieder auf. Er war der Zeiger der Schützengesellschaft und trug bei besonderen Anlässen ein Narrenkostüm. Im Schiessstand sorgte er mit der Pritsche, einem Schlagstock, für Ruhe und Ordnung. Mit Sprüchen und Spässen unterhielt er dann die Gesellschaft am Abend beim Schützenmahl. 

1776 wurde der Narr dann abgeschafft und sein Kleid versteigert. Da er auf den Bildern aus dieser Zeit stets nur eine Kappe, nie aber eine Maske trug, weiss man nicht, ob die Maske damals auch dabei war. 

1840 findet sich ein weiterer Hinweis; Der Seckelmeister liess ein Bajassenkleid reparieren. Am Ausschiesset 1855 war dann der Narr sicher dabei, ausgestattet mit Schellenkappe und Kolben. Er wurde aber nicht Fulehung, sondern Bajäggel (Bajass) genannt. Kurz darauf wurde er von den Schulbehörden wiederum abgeschafft und im Jahre 1864 von den Schützen wieder eingeführt - nun mit der Teufelsmaske. Woher diese ursprünglich stammt, ist unbekannt. Die Originalmaske gehört der Kadettenkommission und wird heute im Schloss Thun aufbewahrt. 

Um das Jahr 1900 herum erhielt der Narr dann den heutigen Namen Fulehung. Ursprünglich eine Verspottung (Fauler Hund), wurde der einstige Name Bajass im Laufe der Zeit davon verdrängt. 

1901 entschied die Kadettenkommission, dass der Fulehung nur noch an den Umzügen erscheinen dürfe und dann wieder verschwinden müsse. Er soll wegen der Verrohung der Jugend einige Jahre nicht mehr aufgetretten sein. Die Tradition setzte sich aber dennoch durch, und seither fehlte der Fulehung an keinem Ausschiesset mehr.

Seit ca. 1960 beschränkt sich sein Wirken in Thun auf die Innenstadt. An den Ausschiesset-Umzügen und beim Gesslerschiessen der Kadetten, übt er seine alte Funktionen als Ordner und Pritschenmeister wieder aus. Daneben jagd er die Menge mit Söiblattere und Schyt durch die Gassen und verteilt Süssigkeiten an die Kinder.
Sein Name wiederspiegelt dabei sein Tun ganz und gar nicht, denn faul ist der Hung keineswegs; Er absolviert während des Ausschiessets ein immenses Laufpensum und muss sich in den Gassen der Thuner Innenstadt hervorragend auskennen.